What is Road to the Horse?

We’re rewriting kindness in a manner it should have been written in the first place. We are making a better world for the horse.

A vision of Steven and Tootie Bland, Road to the Horse was created with passion and perseverance. Steven and Tootie were believers in a message they wanted to share with the world. The message: create a relationship which is based on a foundation of trust with the horse, and everything else can be accomplished. Fans at Road to the Horse, follow the journey and witness an accumulation of a lifetime of passion and knowledge be put to the test as elite clinicians from around the world face off for the coveted World Championship of Colt Starting title. Fans witness partnerships develop before their very eyes, they witness the setbacks and witness the triumphs, as competitors build a relationship with an untouched 3-year-old American Quarter Horse which will then be put to the ultimate test, where only one can walk away with the World Championship of Colt Starting title.

Past World Champions of Colt Starting:

  • 2003 – Curt Pate, Josh Lyons, Clinton Anderson
  • 2005 – Craig Cameron, Clinton Anderson, Van Hargis
  • 2006 – Van Hargis, Martin Black, Craig Cameron, Stacy Westfall
  • 2007Chris Cox, Stacy Westfall, Clinton Anderson
  • 2008 – Mike Kevil, Tommy Garland, Ken McNabb, Chris Cox
  • 2009 – John Lyons, Tommy Garland, Richard Winters
  • 2010 – Richard Winters, Craig Cameron, Ken McNabb
  • 2011 – Pat Parelli, Chris Cox, Clinton Anderson
  • 2012 International
    • Team Australia – Guy McLean & Dan James
    • Team Canada – Jonathan Field & Glenn Stewart
    • Team USA – Craig Cameron & Pat Parelli
  • 2013 – Dan James, Sarah Winters, Guy McLean, Obbie Schlom
  • 2014Jim Anderson, Antoine Cloux, Jonathan Field, Dan Steers
  • 2015Chris Cox, Jim Anderson, Trevor Carter
  • 2016 – Clinton Anderson, Nick Dowers, Richard Winters
  • 2017 – Sarah Dawson, Kate Neubert, Rachelle Valentine , Vicki Wilson
  • 2018 – Vicki Wilson, Nick Dowers, Dan James


Past Jack Brainard Horsemanship Winners:brainard1

The Road to the Horse Jack Brainard Horsemanship Award goes to the horseman or horsewoman that excels in their power of observation to correctly analyze the best approach and then apply that method as smoothly as possible for the horse’s best interest.

Trainer, Breeder, Judge, Leader, Teacher, Author, Mentor and Friend are all accurate labels of Jack Brainard of Tioga, Texas, long known for his contributions to the equine industry and his lifelong commitment to horses and the people who enjoy them.

Jack Brainard has bred and trained horses for over 53 years and judged for a variety of national horse associations for over 40 years. These Associations include Paint Horse, Quarter Horse, Appaloosa, Palomino, NCHA Cutting and NRHA reining shows, both in the U. S. and abroad. He has bred or trained horses that have won world titles in a variety of disciplines, including reining, cutting, roping and pleasure riding. During the Nixon administration, Jack Brainard was one of 15 appointed members of the U.S. Horse Industry Advisory Committee who met with the Secretary of Agriculture. In 2003 Jack Brainard was named “Man Of The Year in Texas Agriculture.” He currently is a board member of the Equine Program at Texas A & M University at Commerce, Texas, and has received the Industry Leader Recognition Award at the Texas Equine Industry Conference at Texas A & M University in College Station.

Jack Brainard, at 94, still leads an active life. Most days he can be found teaching students or traveling the roads to conduct one of his many clinics. His students marvel at his “easy to understand” presentation of the prerequisites and elements of the “flying lead change,” his positive and motivating approach to both horse and rider, and his never-ending enthusiasm for doing what he truly loves. He is as graceful on a Country & Western dance floor as he is in the saddle. The excitement and positive energy that continually flows from Jack to both his horses and students is rare in men half his age. He says that he hopes to be teaching and riding when he is 100! Learn more about Jack Brainard at www.JackBrainard.com.

  • 2013 – Dan James, Sarah Winters, Guy McLean, Obbie Schlom
  • 2014Jonathan Field, Antoine Cloux, Jim Anderson, Dan Steers
  • 2015Chris Cox, Jim Anderson, Trevor Carter
  • 2016 – Clinton Anderson, Nick Dowers, Richard Winters
  • 2017 – Sarah Dawson, Kate Neubert, Rachelle Valentine, Vicki Wilson
  • 2018 – Nick Dowers, Dan James, Vicki Wilson


Past Traveler Award Winners:traveler1

Winning Road to the Horse is one of the most coveted titles among all those offered in the horse industry. The Road to the Horse 2016 winning competitor will walk away from the event with a cash purse, a Gist buckle, a custom trophy saddle from Martin Saddlery and a Road to the Horse World Championship title. What about the winning colt? What does he get?

Thanks to the American Quarter Horse Association, the rider of the winning colt and the ranch that bred the colt will both receive The Traveler Award – a bronze and an honor that will be noted on the colt’s record permanently on file with the AQHA. Traveler was an AQHA foundation sire inducted into the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame in 1994. He was known to sire handsome foals with good dispositions that also happened to be extremely fast. Before he died at the age of 32, Traveler’s contribution to AQHA linage included Little Joe, Texas Chief and Possum (King).

The legendary Four Sixes Ranch in Guthrie, Texas, will be providing the American Quarter Horses for Road to the Horse 2016. The Four Sixes is one of the original Best Remuda winners and has built time tested pedigrees for more than 140 years.

“The main thing I strive for in the selection of the horses for Road to the Horse is selecting horses that are a good representative sample of what we are trying to produce on the ranch today,” said Dr. Glenn Blodgett, Four Sixes Ranch resident veterinarian and AQHA President. “This event showcases their athletic ability by their interaction with horse trainers in the arena.”

  • 2011 – 6666 Ranch and Chris Cox
  • 2012 – 6666 Ranch, Guy McLean and Dan James
  • 2013 – 6666 Ranch and Guy McLean
  • 2014 – 6666 Ranch and Jim Anderson
  • 2015 – 6666 Ranch and Chris Cox
  • 2016 – 6666 Ranch and Nick Dowers
  • 2017 – 6666 Ranch and Vicki Wilson
  • 2018 – 6666 Ranch and Vicki Wilson



Do you have World Championship Dreams?

 Apply to become a Road to the Horse contender and step into the World’s Horsemanship Arena.